Digital & tech grants in Scotland
Grants for software, AI, websites and automation open to businesses in Scotland, from the enterprise agencies and local councils.
- 8 open or opening soon
- Every scheme links to its funder
- Free supplier quotes in 72 hours
Find your grant
In Scotland, grant support for tech projects comes from three enterprise agencies and the councils. Scottish Enterprise covers most of the country, Highlands and Islands Enterprise covers the north and the islands, and South of Scotland Enterprise covers the Borders and Dumfries and Galloway. Councils run their own business funds, often through their Business Gateway service.
Council funds tend to pay part of the cost of software, a new website or digital equipment for a trading business. The enterprise agencies’ grants are usually tied to a growth or innovation plan.
Some Scottish funds ask for more than one supplier quote. Each scheme below says what its application needs.
Updated
How far along are you?
What do you want to build?
8 schemes open or opening soon
Business Growth Fund 2026-27 (North Lanarkshire)
North Lanarkshire CouncilWhereNorth LanarkshireFunding£1,000 to £20,000OpenCloses 4 Dec 2026
Competitive capital and growth grant for North Lanarkshire SMEs in key sectors, covering items such as bespoke software and e-commerce platforms. Up to 50% of net costs, up to £20,000 per application.
Who can apply
- SME (under 250 employees) based in North Lanarkshire, in a key sector (e.g. digital, creative, manufacturing, logistics, tourism)
- Trading at least 12 months with turnover at the VAT threshold (exceptions for high-growth projects)
- Must be working with a Business Gateway adviser
- ICT/digital capital projects must be discussed with the adviser first
- Businesses employing staff must pay the Real Living Wage
- Applications over £10,000 must show community benefit
- Max 2 awards and £40,000 per business in a rolling 24 months; max 10 items per application
What it pays for
- Bespoke software
- E-commerce platforms
- Bespoke ICT equipment
- Servers or cloud-based systems
- Machinery or equipment, and green capital projects
- Infrastructure improvements such as premises or ICT cabling (up to £20,000)
- Workforce or skills development (up to £5,000)
- Exhibition support (up to £4,000)
What it won’t pay for
- VAT and delivery costs
- Projects already started, or orders or deposits placed before the application decision
- Capital expenditure and infrastructure grants for home-based businesses
How to apply
- Contact Business Gateway Lanarkshire (01698 442837, lanarkshire@bgateway.com) and work with a Business Gateway adviser.
- A council officer visits your premises and meets the directors or owners before you apply.
- Once eligibility is confirmed, your adviser sends a web link to the online application form.
- Submit the form with evidence (incl. business plan, accounts, 12-month cash flow and two supplier quotes) by a monthly deadline: 5pm 16 Oct, 13 Nov or 4 Dec 2026.
- A monthly panel decides. If awarded, buy within six months, pay suppliers, then claim (final claim deadline 5pm 29 Jan 2027).
What the quotes must show
- On the supplier's own headed paper (ideally PDF or a scan); email quotes only if clearly from the supplier's business email
- Dated within the last 3 months, citing your business name and address and the supplier's contact details
- Clear breakdown of goods or services; impartial, accurate and value for money; handwritten quotes not accepted
- Declare any personal, business or financial connection to your preferred supplier and discuss it with your adviser first
- Funding
- £1,000 to £20,000
- Covers
- Covers up to 50% of costs
- Applications
- Closes 4 December 2026
- Supplier quote
- 2, each from a different supplier
- Last checked
- 11 October 2026
More like thisWebsite grants, Software grants
Technology Development Grant (HIE DaTE)
Highlands and Islands EnterpriseWhereHighlands and IslandsFunding£10,000 to £25,000OpenNo closing date given
Grant for Highlands and Islands businesses researching, developing and testing a new digital or technology-led product, process or service, including software, SaaS, AI, platforms and apps. Minimum £10,000.
Who can apply
- Based in the Highlands and Islands Enterprise area
- Fewer than 50 employees (incl. community and social enterprises)
- Technology must be central to a new product, process or service
- Routine business advice, incremental improvement or general digital adoption not eligible
- Retail, hospitality, personal or general business services unlikely unless creating a new tech venture
- Fair Work conditions apply; pay costs upfront and claim in arrears
- Rolling while funds last; applications close May 2027 (exact day not published)
What it pays for
- Artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning products
- Software development and software-as-a-service (SaaS) solutions
- Digital platforms, apps and online services
- Data innovation and data-driven products
- Robotics, automation and cobotics
- IoT, sensor-based and connected technology products
- Cyber security, AR/VR and immersive technologies
- Other technology-enabled products with proprietary IP, incl. emerging and deep tech
What it won’t pay for
- Projects previously funded by HIE
- Salary costs of payroll employees
- Placements
- Legal costs
- Travel and accommodation (generally excluded; case by case depending on location)
How to apply
- Complete HIE's enquiry form; a member of the HIE team will get in touch.
- Apply with an outline brief, evidence of at least three contractor quotes and justification for your chosen supplier.
- HIE appraises each case (need for funding, viability, ability to deliver, economic impact); intervention level is agreed during the application.
- If offered a grant, complete the work and pay suppliers upfront, then submit a claim; HIE pays in arrears.
What the quotes must show
- Provide an outline brief for the work, evidence of at least three quotes from potential contractors and justification for your choice
- Choose your own suppliers: HIE cannot recommend suppliers
- If you pay a supplier by business credit card, say so at application; the card must be paid before you claim
- Funding
- £10,000 to £25,000
- Applications
- No closing date given
- Supplier quote
- At least three
- Last checked
- 11 October 2026
More like thisSoftware grants, AI grants
Digital Development Grant (Renfrewshire)
Renfrewshire CouncilWhereRenfrewshireFunding£1,000 to £10,000OpenNo closing date given
Grant for Renfrewshire businesses developing and implementing new digital systems to improve business performance and enable growth, covering up to 50% of eligible expenditure.
Who can apply
- Business located in Renfrewshire
- No closing date published
What it pays for
- Development and implementation of new digital systems that aim to improve business performance and enable growth
How to apply
- Register or sign in to Renfrewshire Council MyAccount and complete the online 'Apply for a digital development grant' form.
- Funding
- £1,000 to £10,000
- Covers
- Covers up to 50% of costs
- Applications
- No closing date given
- Supplier quote
- Check the guidance
- Last checked
- 11 October 2026
Technology Kickstart Grant (HIE DaTE)
Highlands and Islands EnterpriseWhereHighlands and IslandsFunding£2,000 to £10,000OpenNo closing date given
Early-stage R&D grant for founders and small businesses in the Highlands and Islands developing a new digital or technology-led minimum viable product, process or service. Covers a proportion of costs, minimum £2,000.
Who can apply
- Based in the Highlands and Islands Enterprise area
- Fewer than 50 employees (incl. community and social enterprises)
- Technology must be central to a new product, process or service
- Routine business advice, incremental improvement or general digital adoption not eligible
- Retail, hospitality, personal or general business services unlikely unless creating a new tech venture
- Fair Work conditions apply; pay costs upfront and claim in arrears
- Rolling while funds last; applications close May 2027 (exact day not published)
What it pays for
- Artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning products
- Software development and software-as-a-service (SaaS) solutions
- Digital platforms, apps and online services
- Data innovation and data-driven products
- Robotics, automation and cobotics
- IoT, sensor-based and connected technology products
- Cyber security, AR/VR and immersive technologies
- Other technology-enabled products with proprietary IP, incl. emerging and deep tech
What it won’t pay for
- Projects previously funded by HIE
- Salary costs of payroll employees
- Placements
- Legal costs
- Travel and accommodation (generally excluded; case by case depending on location)
How to apply
- Complete HIE's enquiry form; a member of the HIE team will get in touch.
- Apply with an outline brief, evidence of at least three contractor quotes and justification for your chosen supplier.
- HIE appraises each case (need for funding, viability, ability to deliver, economic impact); intervention level is agreed during the application.
- If offered a grant, complete the work and pay suppliers upfront, then submit a claim; HIE pays in arrears.
What the quotes must show
- Provide an outline brief for the work, evidence of at least three quotes from potential contractors and justification for your choice
- Choose your own suppliers: HIE cannot recommend suppliers
- If you pay a supplier by business credit card, say so at application; the card must be paid before you claim
- Funding
- £2,000 to £10,000
- Applications
- No closing date given
- Supplier quote
- At least three
- Last checked
- 11 October 2026
More like thisSoftware grants, AI grants
Digital Development Grant (West Lothian)
West Lothian CouncilWhereWest LothianFundingUp to £7,500OpenNo closing date given
Grant for West Lothian businesses introducing new digital capabilities, such as building an e-commerce website, developing an app or buying software. Up to £7,500 against a total project cost of £15,000.
Who can apply
- Based in West Lothian; key sectors incl. electronics and software, creative, manufacturing, tourism (others if strategically aligned)
- Trading more than 12 months and reached the VAT threshold
- Up to 50% of eligible costs; maximum project cost £15,000
- Businesses employing staff must pay at least the Real Living Wage
- Do not apply if awarded a Digital Development Grant in the last 12 months
- No reapplying for 18 months after drawdown; max 2 grants per business
- No closing date published; budgets are limited
What it pays for
- Building an e-commerce website
- Developing an app
- Purchase of software and IT, and digital hardware
- Improving IT infrastructure
- Enhancing digital skills of the workforce
What it won’t pay for
- VAT
- Activities already started before applying
How to apply
- Review West Lothian Council's business funding guide (priorities, key sectors and pre-application criteria).
- Register interest by emailing invest@westlothian.gov.uk; funding is delivered by Business Gateway West Lothian.
- Apply with management accounts, financial projections and an environmental plan.
- If awarded, pay upfront and reclaim the grant with invoices and bank statements (paid retrospectively).
- Funding
- Up to £7,500
- Covers
- Covers up to 50% of costs
- Applications
- No closing date given
- Supplier quote
- Check the guidance
- Last checked
- 11 October 2026
More like thisWebsite grants, Software grants
Business Development Grants 2026-27 (East Renfrewshire)
East Renfrewshire CouncilWhereEast RenfrewshireFundingUp to £5,000OpenNo closing date given
Grants for East Renfrewshire businesses towards bespoke IT software, IT equipment for new services and e-commerce activity. Off-the-shelf software and non-e-commerce brochure websites are excluded.
Who can apply
- Located and trading in East Renfrewshire
- Micro Business Grant: trading 12+ months, 16+ hours a week, turnover £10k-£100k, up to £2,000
- Small Business Growth Grant: trading 12+ months, turnover £100k+, 50% of eligible costs, £2,001-£5,000
- Items must be purchased outright
- Not in debt to the council (active repayment plans considered)
- Available between now and February 2027 (exact day not published)
What it pays for
- Bespoke IT software
- IT equipment for new services
- Marketing and e-commerce activities
- Capital equipment for new services, products or processes
- Exhibiting at a national trade show
- Commercial property improvements incl. energy efficiency measures
What it won’t pay for
- Off-the-shelf software packages (e.g. Microsoft Office, Sage)
- Laptops, tablets or mobile phones
- Websites or brochures without a clear focus on e-commerce; social media advertising
- Purchases or orders already made; hire purchase, lease or finance
- Furniture, consumables, second-hand equipment, vehicles
- Transport, subsistence or accommodation
How to apply
- Check the eligibility criteria on the council's page.
- Complete the online application form and upload supporting documents (it has no save facility and times out after 45 minutes).
- Include 1 written quote per item, your last 2 months of business bank statements, annual accounts and an income and expenditure projection.
- The council reviews the application and may visit; a decision is usually made within 14 days.
What the quotes must show
- Micro grants: give your rationale for the chosen supplier
- Funding
- Up to £5,000
- Applications
- No closing date given
- Supplier quote
- 1 written quote per item
- Last checked
- 11 October 2026
More like thisWebsite grants, Software grants
Technology Advice and Mentoring Grant (HIE DaTE)
Highlands and Islands EnterpriseWhereHighlands and IslandsFunding£2,000 to £5,000OpenNo closing date given
Grant towards paid specialist advice and mentoring for Highlands and Islands tech founders, such as technical scoping, product roadmaps, MVP requirements and technical feasibility. Minimum £2,000.
Who can apply
- Based in the Highlands and Islands Enterprise area
- Fewer than 50 employees (incl. community and social enterprises)
- Technology must be central to a new product, process or service
- Routine business advice, incremental improvement or general digital adoption not eligible
- Retail, hospitality, personal or general business services unlikely unless creating a new tech venture
- Fair Work conditions apply; pay costs upfront and claim in arrears
- Rolling while funds last; applications close May 2027 (exact day not published)
What it pays for
- Technical scoping, product roadmap planning and advice on minimum viable product requirements
- Customer discovery, market research, market testing and competitor analysis
- Refining the business idea, value proposition and target market
- Business model development, pricing, commercial planning and go-to-market preparation
- Founder mentoring on start-up readiness and investment preparedness
- Specialist advice to prepare a business plan, action plan or investor-ready proposition
What it won’t pay for
- Projects previously funded by HIE
- Own time or salary costs of payroll employees
- Materials
- Placements
- Legal costs
- Travel and accommodation (generally excluded; case by case depending on location)
How to apply
- Complete HIE's enquiry form; a member of the HIE team will get in touch.
- Apply with an outline brief, evidence of at least three contractor quotes and justification for your chosen supplier.
- HIE appraises each case (need for funding, viability, ability to deliver, economic impact); intervention level is agreed during the application.
- If offered a grant, complete the work and pay suppliers upfront, then submit a claim; HIE pays in arrears.
What the quotes must show
- Identify up to three eligible consultants or mentors; provide evidence of at least three quotes and justification for your choice
- Choose your own supplier: HIE cannot recommend suppliers
- If you pay a supplier by business credit card, say so at application; the card must be paid before you claim
- Funding
- £2,000 to £5,000
- Applications
- No closing date given
- Supplier quote
- At least three
- Last checked
- 11 October 2026
More like thisSoftware grants, AI grants
SMART: SCOTLAND
Scottish EnterpriseWhereScotlandFundingSee the official pageOpening soonExpected late autumn 2026
Scottish Enterprise's SMART: SCOTLAND feasibility grant is on hold and not accepting applications. Scottish Enterprise says a new fund will launch in late autumn 2026; its terms aren't published yet.
Who can apply
- New fund's terms not yet published
- Previous round: Scottish SMEs with technically innovative feasibility projects with a commercial endpoint
- Previous round: management and technical resources could be in-house or brought in
How to apply
- Sign up for Scottish Enterprise's newsletter for updates on the new fund; no applications are being accepted now.
- Funding
- See the official page
- Applications
- Expected late autumn 2026
- Supplier quote
- Check the guidance
- Last checked
- 11 October 2026
More like thisSoftware grants, AI grants
ZeroPixel isn’t connected to any funder. Amounts, deadlines and rules change, so check the official page before you apply. The funder decides who gets funding.
Compare the schemes
Every open and upcoming scheme on one table. The share of costs is the most a grant will pay towards your project, and you fund the rest. Select a scheme to see its details.
| Scheme | Where | Funding | Share of costs | Stage | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Growth Fund 2026-27 (North Lanarkshire)North Lanarkshire Council | North Lanarkshire | £1,000 to £20,000 | Up to 50% | Already trading | OpenCloses 4 Dec 2026 |
| Technology Development Grant (HIE DaTE)Highlands and Islands Enterprise | Highlands and Islands | £10,000 to £25,000 | Not stated | Working prototype, Already trading | OpenNo closing date given |
| Digital Development Grant (Renfrewshire)Renfrewshire Council | Renfrewshire | £1,000 to £10,000 | Up to 50% | Already trading | OpenNo closing date given |
| Technology Kickstart Grant (HIE DaTE)Highlands and Islands Enterprise | Highlands and Islands | £2,000 to £10,000 | Not stated | Just an idea, Working prototype | OpenNo closing date given |
| Digital Development Grant (West Lothian)West Lothian Council | West Lothian | Up to £7,500 | Up to 50% | Already trading | OpenNo closing date given |
| Business Development Grants 2026-27 (East Renfrewshire)East Renfrewshire Council | East Renfrewshire | Up to £5,000 | Not stated | Already trading | OpenNo closing date given |
| Technology Advice and Mentoring Grant (HIE DaTE)Highlands and Islands Enterprise | Highlands and Islands | £2,000 to £5,000 | Not stated | Just an idea, Working prototype | OpenNo closing date given |
| SMART: SCOTLANDScottish Enterprise | Scotland | See the official page | Not stated | Any stage | Opening soonExpected late autumn 2026 |
Dates to know
The openings and deadlines funders have published for the next twelve months, month by month.
December 2026
- Business Growth Fund 2026-27 (North Lanarkshire)North LanarkshireCloses
6 more schemes are open with no fixed closing date. Funds like these can close once the money runs out, so check the official page.
How many quotes each grant asks for
Some funders want more than one quote so they can compare prices. We write one. If your grant asks for more, the others have to come from other suppliers.
| Scheme | Where | Quotes needed |
|---|---|---|
| Business Growth Fund 2026-27 (North Lanarkshire)North Lanarkshire Council | North Lanarkshire | 2, each from a different supplier |
| Technology Development Grant (HIE DaTE)Highlands and Islands Enterprise | Highlands and Islands | At least three |
| Technology Kickstart Grant (HIE DaTE)Highlands and Islands Enterprise | Highlands and Islands | At least three |
| Business Development Grants 2026-27 (East Renfrewshire)East Renfrewshire Council | East Renfrewshire | 1 written quote per item |
| Technology Advice and Mentoring Grant (HIE DaTE)Highlands and Islands Enterprise | Highlands and Islands | At least three |
Grants by nation and project
The same list, narrowed to where your business is or what you want to build, each with its own introduction.
Need a supplier quote?
Tell us about the project and the grant you’re applying for. You’ll have a fixed-price, grant-ready quote within 72 hours, free.